How to Append

Hi guys! This is a beginner’s tutorial on how to Append. Appending it the process of putting one .blend file into another one for reasons such as making a movie. So let’s start:

  • Now, I browse to my Microfigure Model file and click on it. Now it comes up to a screen that has a list of things such as Lamps, Camera, Objects, Mesh. Select Object.

  • Then select  the parts of the model you want to append. I selected my rig, model, shield, and spear.

  • As you can see, the model imported over the cube! To fix that, I use Layers. They are very helpful in times like this. To move the selected objects to another layer, press ‘M’ and press a layer on the box or press 1-0 on the number pad on the top of the keyboard. A good idea is to go to the layer you want to use before importing or appending a model.

Now you’ve appended a model to another model! That’s all folks!

-rioforce

5 thoughts on “How to Append

  1. Very Nice Rio. I use appending alot when making models. I first found out about it when i need to get My minifig model into the file with my bricks. So i looked it up and figured it out.

  2. Pingback: Baking Ambient Occlusion « Rendered Smoothie

  3. Pingback: Baking Ambient Occlusion | Rendered Smoothie

Leave a Reply

